TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice icon
2020
2019
2018
2017
2016
2015
2014
2013
2012
Steve B
Steve B
2. June, 2021.
I was picked up and dropped off at my accommodation and had an awesome day with great food. Amazing staff interaction and friendliness with all the guests Several people were not very confident but with the help of these incredible people everyone had a great day
Portcbob
Portcbob
8. May, 2021.
Good day out but not great. Went to the gbr with this company on Friday and had a good time. Weather was brilliant as was the snorkelling. Staff were good however I thought when it came to diving and snorkelling it seemed a bit unorganised. The other thing that needs improvement was the food. Lunch was ordinary we thought. Small piece of grilled chicken or beef mince patties, coleslaw and a small bread roll. They need a bit more variety with lunch. Overall, it was a nice day but could be improved very easily.
Russell M
Russell M
7. May, 2021.
Super day out on reef Recommended to go with Reef Adventure on the reef trip and we were pleased we did. Great crew on board , explaining everything about the reef on way out. Served hot egg and bacon rolls not long after departing then a very filling lunch of bbq chicken or beef. And the reef - well especially the snorkelling after lunch on Saxtons reef was magnificent - plenty of color and movement with lots of movement of fish of all sizes. Well looked after by crew and some great shots of the reef we purchased . Super day out ! Highly recommended
Deborah H
Deborah H
4. May, 2021.
Fantastic experience We had an amazing day, the trip was informative and fun. We especially enjoyed the entertaining presentation by the marine biologist, Amy. The food was more than enough and very enjoyable. All the crew were super friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend to anyone thinking about a day trip to the reef
Mark T
Mark T
1. May, 2021.
The Bucket List Trip The Great Barrier Reef is one "must see" experience of a lifetime and these are the guys to take you there. From the moment you arrive it's like you are being welcomed on board by an old friend, grab a coffee, get handed a tasty egg and bacon roll and the adventure starts. The crew are enthusiastic and professional and you can tell they all genuinely love their job and know how to have fun. Snorkelling around the reef was amazing and the introductory scuba dive was incredible. Scuba Diving has been on my bucket list for years & I'm glad these guys made it happen for me, I couldn't have asked for a more memorable day.
Geoff F
Geoff F
23. April, 2021.
Awesome experience Had an awesome day with family and friends. Experienced scuba diving on the reef and great snorkeling. Breakfast lunch , cheese bikkies and wine provided. Crew was amazing and all kicked in and worked hard. Well worth in and highly recommended Well done to the team.
The Betty Whanau
The Betty Whanau
14. April, 2021.
Great value for money We enjoyed our experience out on the reef. Everyone in the family was able to participate in snorkeling with other alternatives such as a glass bottom boat tour offered. The all inclusive nature of this particular company was a bonus - introductory dive and snorkeling gear included in the price. A second dive only cost $65. Breakfast and lunch meals were not fancy but filling and the long journey on the way out is filled with different presentations to pass the time. Would definitely go again if in Cairns again.
D L
D L
8. April, 2021.
Fabulous staff & enjoyable day We are family with a 11 years old pay the extra for the Top Deck experience as suggested by other reviewers. Fabulous staff services starts from hotel pickup (no extra charges). Arrived on board, beautiful fruit plater already waiting for us. Then fully cooked breakfast was brought to our table. Our personal guide Pete (Pearce?) is absolutely the most amazing person. He was allocated to look after just the 3 of us. Always very attentive, making sure we are comfortable & informed. We adults are non swimmers, Pete is very gentle yet encouraging for us to try introduction to diving. We all suited up diving gear and as far as gone into the water. Pete himself take the 2 of us only to diving.. talk about personal service! Unfortunately we are too scared to carry on diving. Pete has been very encouraging and respected us to get back onboard. Then he took only the 2 of us out snorkeling with life vest and pulled us around with a life saving ring to snorkel so we can see lots of corals & fishes. Food is great! We have a choice of either steak or chicken for lunch. On the way back, champagne cheese & crackers were also offered. Since we are non drinkers, we have soft drinks instead. If you are looking for attentive service, fabulous staff and a amazing day out on GBR, Reef Experience Top Deck is the way to go! Thank you everyone especially Pete for making GBR such an amazing day!
Road372483
Road372483
6. April, 2021.
Highly recommended 5* crew!!! Alex is absolutely fantastic, helped us hopeless swimmers. Excellent trip! Thank you, guys, for great experience
Jan Hurt
Jan Hurt
3. June, 2021.
Went out today and had the most fantastic day. Staff were so helpful, food good and the snorkeling and diving were sensational. Can not recommend them high enough
Bec Erhart
Bec Erhart
19. May, 2021.
A group of 6 of us went & we had a brilliant day. The day was pretty windy but that is the risk & it didn't change how we felt about the trip. The value of money was amazing as the food was fresh & tasty. The staff were friendly & nothing was a problem. The Reef itself was mind blowing & we can't fault our experience. Also it's a family owned business so we are pleased to support them & we would do it again 😍😍😍
Hannah McCusker
Hannah McCusker
15. May, 2021.
Amazing day and all crew were so friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend.
Hariharanadha Reddy Atmakuru
Hariharanadha Reddy Atmakuru
13. May, 2021.
Highly trained &Experienced team.First time divers and Non- Swimmers are taken care with personal instructors. No Hidden fees 👏 Excellent Team 👏
E D
E D
6. May, 2021.
Great experience from booking with Erika who checked the weather and times for the Reef Experience and Kuranda Rail. After reading reviews we upgraded to Top Deck and so perfect for our last holiday as a fam. 1 diver and 3 not. Andy as our host and guide was great as was Jayde when Andy was out with our daughters on their 2nd dive. We enjoyed breakfast and lunch and earned our afternoon wine with fruit and cheese platter after some amazing dive and snorkel time. All the staff were so attentive and helpful. Amazing hospitality. If you are diving book an early trip as like us you'll want to go again. Our best day in Cairns.
Kirsty Dale
Kirsty Dale
6. May, 2021.
Had the best day out on the reef on Wednesday. Crew were all fabulous especially our top deck attendants Andy & Jade. Andy made my sister and I feel so safe on our intro scuba dives and we saw some amazing sites & lots of wild life. Lunch was great as was the service for drinks over the afternoon. Also loved that there was an underwater photographer on board - priceless!!! Would absolutely book again in a heartbeat
Ashara Fernando
Ashara Fernando
4. May, 2021.
Professional and friendly crew. They take the time to make sure you'll be safe and have an enjoyable snorkelling experience. The marine biology presentation is also a nice touch. Food was also pretty decent and they sell motion sickness pills and beverages for a small fee. Water, coffee and tea as well as breakfast and lunch is included. Super cool that they offer a free first time diver experience. Highly recommend this company.
Brad Old
Brad Old
4. May, 2021.
Fantastic crew, great experience, enjoyed our day on the reef
Lindsey O.
Lindsey O.
19. November, 2019.
What a (Reef) experience!!! Oh God it's like a female dad joke. Anyways I had an incredible time with Reef experience. You start in the morning presented with different options - beginner dives, certified diver dives, tour guide led dives etc. They provide a nice breakfast for you on the way so don't eat before! (I did so guess who had second breakfast). It took about 90 minutes to get to stop one where we first had time to snorkel and then did our dives. The snorkel was absolutely incredible and I will say - you aren't totally missing out if you choose to just snorkel and not dive, BUT the dive was definitely the coolest. You'll still have amazing views and see tons of fish snorkeling (I saw a stingray snorkeling) but the dive is amazing cause you get so much closer and deeper and see cool stuff like massive clams. We saw a shark!! So cool. My guide Kohler was awesome and made me feel so comfortable diving as I had not been in 15 years and was kind of terrified, but it was so easy and I remembered everything when I got in. After dive 1 they have lunch. I was shocked a diving boat would have good food but honestly it was delicious. Great steak and sausage and like 4 different salads that were all great. LOVED the Cole slaw. After lunch we had time for another dive or snorkel, and in between everything + on the way back we were able to sunbathe on the deck. Another major prop was Olly the photographer. The shots he took of me were absolutely amazing and the highest quality!!
Vijay S.
Vijay S.
18. April, 2019.
I was looking for a tour company and finally decided to go with reef experience after somebody else recommended it. They are small and family owned but accommodate large tour group size. Staff were friendly and helpful. Check in was bit slow but once we get settled in, breakfast was provided. You can purchase sea sickness tablets for 3$ which I highly recommend. The water was quite rough when we went and was the same while snorkeling at the first spot as well. The first spot is mainly for scuba diving and some snorkeling. I couldn't do scuba diving even though it was included as I was flying within 24 hours. After the first spot, lunch was provided which was pretty good. We then proceeded to go to the second snorkeling spot which was much better with different coral reefs and for people to do additional scuba diving if they wanted at additional cost. After about an hour, we were headed back to the shore. On our way back, we were given wine and cheese to snack on. The water was bit rough on the way back as well. There was sunscreen on the boat itself which is reef proof and protective. Overall good experience, it was unfortunate that the water was rough and I couldn't scuba dive but everything else made up for it.
Pamela V.
Pamela V.
12. March, 2019.
First time here and forst time on the barrier reef. The tour leaves around 8am and returns around 4.30pm. Food is provided: breakfast, lunch and wine, cheese and biscuits after a fun day snorkelling or diving. The crew works really hard to make it a fun day and they all work as a team. They look after you whilst in the water and make sure you are safe. A day I will never forget. Came home with some amazing pictures too.

Our Reviews